Yes on C 2018-05-28T18:13:38+00:00
Vote YES on C

“C” is for Community.

Vote Yes on Measure C to fight suburban sprawl and prevent developers from creating their own rules. Measure C guarantees we create real affordable housing for San Jose, and we protect our hillsides and open spaces from sprawl and choking traffic.

Measure C will require developers to live up to their promises by:

Keeping San Jose Green
Preserving hillsides and environmentally sensitive areas from development, and requiring the use of recycled water and “zero net energy” design standards

Building More Affordable Housing
If development is allowed in some areas, Measure C requires 50% of new housing be affordable for moderate and low-income families

Making Developers Pay for the Traffic They Create
Measure C ensures developers – and not taxpayers – pay for road improvement and repair for the increased traffic their development brings

Combatting Sprawl
Measure C combats residential sprawl on the environmentally sensitive edges of our city, including Coyote Valley, the Evergreen foothills and the Almaden Valley. Sprawling development destroys our environment, and burdens San Jose’s taxpaying and commuting residents, because sprawl:

  • Damages our hillsides and open spaces, and increases greenhouse gas emissions from longer and gridlocked commutes;
  • Strains street and sewer systems, stretching city finances to provide police, fire, and other services to outlying areas – undermining service quality for residents in existing neighborhoods; and
  • Worsens the gridlock on our streets, roads and freeways.

We support Measure C!

Elected Officials:

San Jose Mayor Sam Liccardo
Former San Jose Mayor Chuck Reed
Former San Jose Mayor Ron Gonzalez
San Jose Vice Mayor Magdalena Carrasco
Former San Jose Vice Mayor Rose Herrera
San Jose City Councilmember Chappie Jones
San Jose City Councilmember Dev Davis
San Jose City Councilmember Don Rocha
San Jose City Councilmember Lan Diep
San Jose City Councilmember Johnny Khamis
San Jose City Councilmember Raul Peralez
San Jose City Councilmember Sergio Jimenez
San Jose City Councilmember Sylvia Arenas
San Jose City Councilmember Tam Nguyen
Former San Jose City Councilmember Margie Matthews
Former San Jose City Councilmember Nancy Pyle
Assemblymember Ash Kalra
Assemblymember Kansen Chu
Franklin-McKinley School District Board Trustee Omar Torres

Community and News Organizations:

The Mercury News
Greenbelt Alliance
Sierra Club Committee for Green Foothills
Save The Bay
SC League of Conservation Voters
Santa Clara Valley Audubon Society
League of Women Voters, San Jose/Santa ​
Sikh Gurdwara San Jose Santa Clara County Democrats
​Silicon Valley Asian Pacific American Democratic
Silicon Valley Young Democrats
The Villages Democratic Club
The Villages Republican Club

Community members:

Carl Guardino
Daniel Reyes
Deb Kramer
Eileen McLaughlin
Gail Osmer
James Eggers
Jeffrey Cardenas
Jeremy Barousse
Kat Baumgartner
Khanh Hoang
Leslee Guardino
Mackenzie Mossing
Megan Medeiros
Paul Pereira
Robert Reese
Robert Van Cleef
Teresa Alvarado
Thanh Do Nguyen
Wes Lee